The poor side of life

Today was a wet and dreary day and it was also our second anniversary demonstration. I’m sorry to say that we have had to hold these demonstrations for two years. It’s a very sad indictment of today’s society of the way this government treats the poorest and most vulnerable in society.

As usual I had no expectations about how many people might join us. I try not to put pressure on people because they are already under a lot of pressure anyway trying to keep going. But I was overwhelmed. I asked for a headcount and 37 people had arrived from organisations all over the north west. We had members of DPAC ( disabled people against cuts), Old Swan against the cuts, The Mary Quaille club, Stockport against austerity, Unite Community north west branch of which I am a member, members of the Lancashire anti fracking nanas, and individuals who…

View original post 342 more words

